WOL for Duo4k? [wip]

Sharo

Vu+ Newbie
Hello people :)
Quick introduction: I'm frustrated from lack of WoL on duo4k, it is really useful feature. I have been using IPBOX for almost 10 years, and it didn't have it either. But i had rasp+ir diode (lame but the only possible solution, as the STB source was waay older than the installedd image).
Now I see that in vuplus world this is much better.
So back to the topic, I see that duo4k is with BCM7278, and the devicetree (fdt or /proc/devicetree) have everything required for wol. BUT the kernel does not support it - that is 4.1.45. The driver for systemportlite (switch chip) is generic for systemport (support for systemportlite is introduced in 4.11 kernel). Difference between Lite and non-lite is that the latter one has 3 interrupts (WoL is #3), and Lite has 2 (WoL is #2) - so using 4.1.45 WoL interrupt never gets correct.
So 2 options i see here - compile image with kernel >4.11 (unfortunately there are closed source modules, so this seems no-go without vuplus support); second option - manually change bcmsysport.c & recompile. I'll try this tonight.

Probably there will be other issues (i.e. aon-ctrl, which also does not have drivers in 4.1)...

Anyone tried something regarding this topic?

AlexWilMac

I'm curious to know what would you use WOL for.
If for streaming, you don't need it. If for FTP access, you don't need it. So, I'm interested to know the final reason.

Sharo

Vu+ Newbie
Well, I don't like the idea to run the box 24/7 (not just because of electricity bill). Occasionally I need to watch something over the internet/record something - and bad surprise - the box is off, and there is nobody to turn it on. My cat is not clever enough to do it for me :)

AlexWilMac

OK, so it's the energy saving thing. Actually, I don't know how much a box requires in StandBy; but it's so comfortable to have access to it from any location for streaming or for adding a timer, that I much prefer to "pay" something for this.