Hi Newbee needs help.

Jay bear

Vu+ Newbie
Good morning/afternoon.

I am new to the world of satellite install, but I am very good with tech and computers. I have purchased a Vu + Duo 2 and a motorised dish set up. Twin Tuner (2 x DVBS2)
1m Superior Motorised Dish Pack Dark Motor 500mm Mount Cable LNB 100cm"
LNB Upgrade Quad Titanium. I have set the dish up and I am now tuned into Thor satellite. I have not flashed the receiver yet.

The installation manual that I got with the receiver was pants. It tells me nothing about setting up a motorised dish. The manual has nothing about any settings at all. Nothing about the different menus and what they are for. Very poor instructions.

Can anyone help me set up the rest of the dish. I need to be able to move the dish from the receiver to pick up the other satellites, to see if I have my arc right.

Thanks

Mick12334

Has the dish/motor already been aligned, and set up to track the satellite arc?
To find your correct latitude, and longitude, you could try dishpointer.com, remember negative longitude readings = West, positive = East.
Your longitude reading also provides you with your True South satellite position, to help set up a motorized dish.
If you have set the dish/motor up yourself you need to follow a few basic rules:
Ensure your pole is absolutely plumb, and solid enough to support the weight of the dish/motor and any weather influene, strong winds, etc..
First have your motor, and dish, set to zero, with no skew (rotation) on your LNB.
Next insert your latitude, and longitude, into your receiver, and use your receiver to send the dish to the satellite youi want to use to align it, most people choose a strong satellite close to their True South position.
Once done physically move, and adjust, your dish to get the strongest signal possible, on the chosen satellite.
Once done tighten everything and check all satellites, using your receiver, to drive the motor.

Jay bear

Vu+ Newbie
Hi Mick,