Playback stops during play of a program being recorded

suho

Vu+ Newbie
I have a Vu+ Duo with Blackhole 2.1.1 with an internal 500GB hdd and I'm a complete noob.

When I start watching a program that is currently being recorded via timer (not time-shift) it starts stuttering and interrupting at the exact point I started watching it. I'll get an onscreen message asking if I would like to stop watching the movie. I choose No, nothing happens and when I chosose Yes, it's still being recorded but with chunks missing.
Is there something I'm missing or is it simply not possible to record and watch at the same time?

I did do a google and found plenty of threads, but none with a proper answer or at least one, that I can understand.

Any help is greatly appreciated, as this feature is essential for me.

Last edited:

Mick12334

There shouldn't be a problem viewing a recording, while it's still recording, I think I've done it a few times, without any stuttering. Have you run a test, on your hard drive, using the Black Hole options?

suho

Vu+ Newbie
Thanks for your reply.
It's not an actual stuttering (I explained things badly) , but the hdd stops recording at the point I start to watch, although the red rec light on the front is still on and the timer still active. It will resume recording as soon as I stop watching an I end up with a recording with chunks missing.

I will perform the suggested hdd test and double check if it has the same promblem with the default firmware.

Mick12334

How do you access the recording? Do you press the playlist button, followed by the OK button, or the play button arrow?
Does this happen only on timer recordings or also when you press the red record button and add recording?
It sounds more like you're somehow pausing the recording, then resuming recording, rather than stopping the recording, then starting to record again.

suho

Vu+ Newbie
I go to the menu where the recordings are listed, choose it and press ok.